Stuffed Crocodile

A blog (mostly) about tabletop roleplaying games

[HârnWorld] Tool: Campaign Tracker (for DnD B/X derivatives)

screenshot of google sheet

I am currently going through a lot of trainings, and specifically I am doing something to work on my SQL knowledge. I only have hovered around the edges of the topic before. Some of my previous jobs involved making some basic database queries, but I never really looked further than basic database structures and simple queries.

But that got me thinking about doing a campaign database in SQL, with a better way to track all those elements that might be interesting to know for a campaign.

Now to be fair, I am not thinking about the usual wham bam 20 levels in a campaign thing 5e seems to have going on, I am talking about a multiplayer campaign in the OSR/West Marches vein where every single session might be played by different players. I think I should actually write about this ideal of a campaign I have.

YOU CAN NOT HAVE A MEANINGFUL CAMPAIGN IF STRICT TIME RECORDS ARE NOT KEPT” (Gygax DMG p37) and all that stuff.

But anyway… when thinking about it I remembered that years ago for my idea of a Harnworld campaign in my own Harnworld B/X derivative that got derailed quickly by parenthood and everything involved in that I made a campaign tracker spreadsheet in Google Sheets that was supposed to do a lot of this already. This was inspired by multiple other sheets I found, e.g. the old ADnD ones or the Hackmaster one. I found it a bit cumbersome to use, but mostly I was waiting for the campaign to continue which it never did, and forgot about the existence of the spreadsheet. I fully intended to improve on it, but haven’t gotten around to it for years now. It mostly is a layout without any formulas.

I did put some thought into it though, it has some Harn specific things (e.g. a tab about Godstones, which are dimensional gates in the setting), so if someone else might find it useful have a look. Maybe give me some feedback while you’re at it.

GDrive: Campaign Tracker (Harnworld) v0.1

2 responses to “[HârnWorld] Tool: Campaign Tracker (for DnD B/X derivatives)

  1. jtskywalker December 8, 2023 at 2:46 pm

    @gmkeros.wordpress.com the thing that would make SQL useful for something like this would be a good front end to interact with. There are campaign manager tools out there (kanka.io is one that I have used. Very flexible but a little slow, at least on my computer). Having the skills to purpose build one for your style would mean cutting out what you don't need to get a much faster and more effective tool. But it's a huge time investment. I might try out this spreadsheet!

    Like

  2. Fish Id Wardrobe December 8, 2023 at 2:56 pm

    @gmkeros.wordpress.com Your problem is that a database might well be a great way of *keeping* this data, but displaying it and entering it? It won't be great at that.

    Generally if you want a friendly interface you have to start programming. But it does kind of depend on the database…

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.