Stuffed Crocodile

A blog (mostly) about tabletop roleplaying games

Monday Miscellany of Links pt. XIII

Wurzburg by Samuel Prout 1833, some adjustment by me. 

View of the fortress of Wuerzburg over the river

A bit late with this one, holiday season was way too busy for my taste, and I got distracted by some retro-computing projects (like my irrational fondness for Usenet and setting up a TTRPG-focused Synchronet BBS on my Raspberry).

Free Stuff

Troika for free (including an adventure). Well, nearly free, for signing up to their newsletter

Into the Dungeon: Revived is an old school ruleset closer to Into the Odd, but with more classic theme

5E RPG Stock Art Illustrations Sample (drivethrurpg)

GM Aid

Some houserules from 1985, from the pages of L’avant garde (August 1985). I think I have to think about caltrops, and of course salt against zombies (which is part of the original Haitian zombie legends and which was excised out of the Holmes edition of DnD)

Schools of Swordplay (Dice Goblin) which is an extension of Block, Dodge, Parry for Cairn, but I think the rules should be adaptable as well

Standoffs and Surprises (The Alexandrian)

The 14 challenges in TTRPGs – All the tools in your toolbox (Dawnfist Games)

Thought

On Discourse – or, how to talk about TTRPGs online (Burn after Running)

What Makes A Good Player-Facing Pointcrawl? (Widdershins Wanderings)

Why are Giants “bad” (Of Slugs and Silver)

A New Genre Itself (Grognardia)

TTRPG History

When in Rome (Grognardia)

Interview with the late Jennell Jayquays about her thoughts in creating Dark Tower and Caverns of Thracia (Vintage RPG)

Random Tables

100 Dungeon Graffiti (OSR Vault)

100 Good/Evil Faction Motivations (OSR Vault)

d100 – Infernal Features & Tiefling Traits (d4 Caltrops)

d100 – Magical Rings (d4 Caltrops)

d50 more memorabila to loot (Seed of Worlds) – how do you even use a d50 table? I think there’s a second half to this I haven’t found yet

Podcasts

Podcast find: Radio Free Muncie goes through all the issues of the Knights of the Dinner Table comic book. I conclude: I have to reread the Bag Wars saga, again.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.